What Kind of Friend Are You?

imagesCome off it, when last did you ask yourself, ‘what kind of friend am I’?  In all honesty, this just crossed my my mind, giving rise to the question, ‘how many kind of friend can there be?’ Well, there are essentially two, simple and real (or true) friends.

A simple friend, when visiting, acts like a guest. A real friend opens your refrigerator and helps himself (and doesn’t feel even the least bit weird shutting your ‘beer/Pepsi drawer’ with her foot!)

A simple friend has never seen you cry. A real friend has shoulders soggy from your tears.

A simple friend doesn’t know your parents’ first names. A real friend has their phone numbers in his address book.

A simple friend brings a bottle of wine to your party. A real friend comes early to help you cook and stays late to help you clean.

A simple friend hates it when you call after they’ve gone to bed. A real friend asks you why you took so long to call.

A simple friend seeks to talk with you about your problems. A real friend seeks to help you with your problems.

A real friend wonders about your romantic history. A simple friend could blackmail you with it.

A simple friend thinks the friendship is over when you have an argument. A real friend calls you after you had a fight.

A simple friend expects you to always be there for them. A real friend expects to always be there for you!

Now, where do you belong? There is actually no straddling on the fence: You’re either here or there. Period. Remember, friendship is like wine; it gets better as it grows older. Never abandon an old friend. You will never find one who can take his place.  There’s tremendous happiness in making others happy, despite our own situations.

Can you think of anyone you can share this piece with? It keeps us together, like our Circle of Friends.

8 thoughts on “What Kind of Friend Are You?

  1. I’m a simple friend. Two weeks ago, a friend wanted me to help her with a cookout. I’ve been to a few cookouts at her house but I don’t like to help. Though, I’ll bring whatever she wants, plus an appetite. I’m not a user or anything. I just don’t like cooking and most of my friends know that. Folk who have only had general conversations with me know that. I don’t know how they know. But then, when I have cookouts, I don’t expect anything. I just want folk to come and leave within two hours.

    • I can identify with you. To be honest, we all have our likes and dislikes. For example, I personally love cooking but not shopping. That might sound weird but it’s damn true. It’s good, though, you’ll ‘bring whatever she wants’, meaning you’re always available to help where possible. That’s still true friendship anyway. Thanks for sharing.

      I’m sorry this’ coming a little belated. I had a pretty busy week.

  2. I think it all great and it resonates with me and my best friends, although I would never help myself to anything out of their fridge without asking as I think it’s rude and they may not have much for themselves.

      • I was thinking of your post when I visited one of my best friends a couple of days ago. She told me she had tortilla crisps and I thought she pointed to a cupboard that they were in, so I opened it by accident in my excitement. This is out of character for me and she asked me what I was doing. I apologised and said I got a bit excited at the thought of them and don’t usually go around opening people’s cupboards. She said she was glad about that.

      • Alas! I thought for a while about your experience and sought my wife’s opinion. She was flabbergasted at your friend’s reaction, especially considering that your friend kind of pointed to the cupboard, evidently suggesting she wanted you catch a glimpse of the tortilla crisps. A pristine behaviour and you’re not to blame San.

        Sorry about that. With all intent and purpose, this’ an area of friendship that requires use of discretion, like I earlier said. I can imagine how you felt. Albeit gregarious, I feel same way too sometimes.

      • Luckily she asked me what I was doing it a lightenhearted tone and after I explained, the conversation quickly moved on. Thanks to you and your wife for understanding, much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

