Don’t Worry About People from Your Past

My Flower

There comes a point in your life when you realize:

Who matters,
Who never did,
Who won’t anymore…
And who always will.
So, don’t worry about people from your past,
There’s a reason why they didn’t make it to your future.

Think about people who have made a difference in your life, however small. It could be just a smile from them to cheer you up for the day, a thoughtful and affectionate hug or kiss, or even a listening ear.

You see your job will not take care of you when you’re ill. Your family and friends will.

Learn to say, ‘Thank you!’ and ‘I love you’ to your partner and loved ones, and be true to your words.

Give time to love, give time to speak, give time to share precious thoughts in your minds with these ones. Remember, the love of friendship is unselfish and kind. It is a treasure to find, and it takes constant attention and care.

So, your family, your friends, your employees – all the people that really matter to you. Give them your time and attention. Stay in touch. They’re the ones who deserve this flower. By all means, give this flower to everyone who matters to you!

2 thoughts on “Don’t Worry About People from Your Past

  1. mishael,
    you never cease to amaze me with your write-ups. i enjoyed it. i used to wonder why some friends from the past dont bother to reply even when i try to contact them. then it occurred to me that i had to move on. thank you for affirming my decision to make new and meaningful friends especially in the christian congregation here in ghana.
    how is family? my warm greetings to ur wife.

    • Dear Goodness,

      The love of friendship takes constant attention and care. It goes without saying, though, that for such friendship to thrive it should be symbiotic. I feel very awful myself when some of my old pals –who I have always tried to maintain regular contact with – hardly reciprocate such gestures, believing it behooves me to keep doing so. Hence, the logical thing to do is to cut the chase. Period.

      You’re very welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed it. We live in an imperfect world and that calls for many adjustments. Move on with your life!

      My wife and I are kicking strong. Thank you for asking. Rest assured you all are in great health too.
      Big shout out to your loved ones and friends.

Leave a Reply

